Mesa Verde region

The Mesa Verde region is located in the Four Corners area of the Southwest. It is called the "Four Corners" because it is the only place in the United States where the corners of four states meet: Colorado, Utah, Arizona, and New Mexico. The region covers almost 10,000 square miles and is the place where Pueblo Indian culture first developed.

The region is named after Mesa Verde, a large mesa in southwestern Colorado. Part of the mesa is included in Mesa Verde National Park, which was created in 1906.